Sympathy

If I were only a little puppy, not your baby, mother dear,

would you say “No” to me if I tried to eat from your dish?

Would you drive me off, saying to me, “Get away, you naughty little puppy?”

Then go, mother, go! I will never come to you when you call me,

and never let you feed me any more.

If I were only a little green parrot, and not your baby,

mother dear, would you keep me chained lest I should fly away?

Would you shake your finger at me and say, “What an ungrateful wretch of a bird! It is gnawing at its chain day and night?”

The go, mother, go! I will run away into the woods;

I will never let you take me in your arms again.

 

-Rabindranath Tagore

Leave a Reply

